Reviewed 13th January 2018 by
5 out of 5

Stayed for 1 night with my 2 grandsons. Excellent hotel and lovely welcome for myself and the 2 boys. All staff were very friendly and pleasant and always made an effort to chat with the boys.
Food was excellent. I opted for the buffet $49.50 and the 2 boys ate free. You can’t get better deal than that and good choice of food for adults and kids alike.
Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and was very spacious even with an extra bed. All beds were very comfortable. The boys 8 & 4 enjoyed the pool area and even I had a dip in the lovely warm water.
The hotel is a fair bit away from the main area of Rotorua but it’s an easy drive into centre of Town.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to staying on future visits to New Zealand.

My new default for Rotorua accommodation!

Reviewed 12th January 2018 by
5 out of 5

We are a young family with two boys aged 7 and 4. We stayed Saturday 6 January 2018 to Monday 8 January 2018 (2 nights). We previously stayed at the Millenium in Rotorua but found the Holiday Inn cheaper on booking.com via Trivago, and paid NZ$412 for two nights for one room with two double beds, including buffet breakfast each morning and an 11am check-out! We were very impressed. The staff were welcoming (and even won a free drink via the spin wheel) and put us in a room with two singles and a queen which suited us better. The room was very tidy and wasn’t at all dated, which I was half expecting. We were in room 218 just opposite the lift, but didn’t experience any noise. Outlook was back towards the carpark at the hotel entrance but this didn’t bother us. Curtains kept the room nice and dark when the sun was up early. The breakfast was great with a full buffet – nothing fancy, but great selection. Was well worth the extra money. Kids enjoyed the outdoor warm pool and beach balls, etc. Was a bit crowded but they had a ball…three times! Found the ping pong table which was great as well. Check-out was smooth and fast. Overall a great stay and we will be back again.

Comfortable hotel located close to Living Maori Village

Reviewed 7th January 2018 by
4 out of 5

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night. I was upgraded to a King room on arrival as my tour operator had booked me into a twin room (I’m travelling on my own). A nice touch. The room was clean, modern and absolutely fine for what i needed. It had a large screen tv, free wifi and a very quiet fridge.
AC also included although wasn’t needed as room temperature was adequate. I didn’t eat in the hotel but, had a drink in the bar on return from the Tamaki Maori Experience dinner. The selection of beers wasn’t bad and I took the recommendation of the barman to try a local option. There is ample parking for your car in the hotel car park and in the surrounding streets. The hotel is right next to the living Maori village attraction.

Best place to stay

Reviewed 7th January 2018 by
5 out of 5

Second time back with my little family in three months, we love staying here great heated pool with pool toys, next to all the under ground smoke looks great from your bedroom window. Yi has the best buffet out of all places I have travel. Staff rock as always there to help you. Very clean hotel and tidy grounds. Look forward to our next holiday and play in the pool.

Family room

Reviewed 21st September 2017 by
4 out of 5

We stayed here in a double room, the rooms were comfortable, the staff were fantastic and very friendly, they couldn’t do enough for us. The pool was fantastic; it is thermally heated and so are the spas . We had the buffet breakfast both mornings and it was great. Very enjoyable.

Thermal Excellence

Reviewed 2nd October 2017 by
5 out of 5

Spent a good few days here whilst taking in the delights of Rotorua. This hotel is very accommodating and hides a surprising culinary excellence. The meals we had here were wonderful, and served by friendly welcoming staff. Our days started with breakfast, all you can eat, with the children eating free.
On return in the evening we could take time to relax in the Thermally heated pool, brilliant.The hotel shop contained a number of absolute bargains, which surprised us for such a small concern. Great location, and worth a visit, please don’t be put off by the essence of volcanic Rotorua.

One night stay on New Zealand road trip.

Reviewed 24th September 2017 by
5 out of 5

We stayed here for one night as we drove from Auckland to Wellington. Rotorua was a great place to stop and spend the night and this hotel had everything we needed; a comfortable bed, spacious room and laundry facilities. Breakfast was also very good. We walked from here to Te Puia to see the geothermal features of the area.

Perfect hotel on the edge of Rotorua

Reviewed 11th May 2017 by
4 out of 5

The Holiday Inn is on the edge of Rotorua and a 5 minute drive into the center. Nice large rooms with all the amenities you would expect. It has a small outdoor swimming pool with plenty of space for catching up some sun! Limited WiFi is available in the rooms as only given a small allowance, however you can pay for more. For a large chain hotel you would expect it to be free unlimited data and time allowance. The restaurant operates a buffet or alternative menu (individual priced). The buffet has a good selection of food but could offer more on main courses. The staff are helpful, polite and will help you organise any tours or excursions you may wish to go on. Please note they do charge a 1.5% fee for using credit cards. Again for a large chain hotel they could occur this cost themselves.

Good location.

Reviewed 16th May 2017 by
4 out of 5

We stayed for 1 evening and had a very pleasant stay. We arrived around 1pm and our room was ready. The check in process was smooth and efficient. The room was as advertised, a good size with a king bed, nice linens, well equipped and clean. The shower was great. Breakfast was included in our room rate and had an excellent selection. We had drinks in the bar and again no complaints. Friendly and professional staff. The hotel had free WiFi and free parking.

Fantastic food, beds and staff

Reviewed 17th May 2017 by
5 out of 5

A fantastic place to stay. the staff are exceptionally helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them . bedrooms are light airy and spacious and the beds COMFORTABLE. The food is consistently EXCELLENT no complaints from the whole of our travelling group the whole stay Top marks Holiday Inn – we will be back